GGT's logo

Groups in Geometry and Topology

Málaga 2006
The First Group Action Forum Conference
GAF's logo
September 4-8, 2006, Málaga, Spain


Registration (closed)



Financial Support




How to get there?
   On the occasion of the International Congress of Mathematicians to be held in Madrid (Spain) from 22 to 30 August, 2006, the Department of Algebra, Geometry and Topology of the University of Málaga is pleased to host the very first Group Action Forum conference.  We also want to highlight the fact that immediately after the conference in Madrid, and before the GTT06 conference there will be another satellite activity of the ICM related to Group Theory that participants may find interesting: the conference Geometric and Asymptotic Group Theory with Applications that will take place in Manresa (Barcelona).


    The purpose of the conference is to highlight the interactions of group theory with topology and geometry. So it is our aim to bring together leading researchers from these branches of mathematics where transformation groups appear, and so the notion of group and the concept of symmetry play important roles. Being more precise, the topics this event will cover are:
  • groups and homotopy theory
  • geometric group theory
  • manifolds and group actions
  • orbifolds and group actions
  • L2 methods/Farrell-Jones Conjecture


    It is our pleasure to announce that the following colleagues have accepted (so far) to become plenary speakers at the conference:
  • Fritz Grunewald, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
  • Bob Oliver, Université Paris 13
  • Karen Vogtmann, Cornell University
  • Joan Porti, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Thomas Delzant, Université Louis Pasteur et CNRS
  • Ian Hambleton, McMaster University
  • Holger Reich, Universität Münster
  • Matthias Kreck, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
  • Nicolas Monod, Université de Genève


    The organizers of this conference are coordinated by Antonio Viruel, and divided into two committees:
  1.  Scientific Committee:
  • Alejandro Ádem (Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)
  • Martin Bridson (London, England, United Kingdom)
  • Carles Broto (Bellaterra, Spain)
  • Wolfgang Lück (Münster, Germany)
  • Stefan Jackowski (Warsaw, Poland)
  • Masaharu Morimoto (Okayama, Japan)
  • Krzysztof Pawałowski (Poznań, Poland)
  • Antonio Viruel (Málaga, Spain)
  1. Local Committee: 
  • Urtzi Buijs
  • Antonio Díaz (now at Aberdeen)
  • Antonio Garvín
  • Francisco Gómez
  • Aniceto Murillo
  • Antonio Viruel

Last revision: August 30th, 2006

Valid HTML 4.01!